Béla Bartók Memorial House
II., Csalán út 29. (+36-1 394-2100) Tue-Sun 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
The Bartók family lived in the three-storey Art Nouveau villa from April 1932 to October 1940. The furniture of Bartók’s home, the composers’ personal objects, his piano and his various collections are displayed at the exhibition. Chamber music concerts are regularly organised in the concert hall on the first floor.
VIII., Fiumei út 16., Building C (+36-1 323-5132, www.nemzetisirkert.hu) Mon-Thu: 10 a.m. – 3 p.m., 10 a.m. – 1 p.m.
The unique collection of tools, devices and objects related to funerals is acknowledged all over the world.
Hospital in the Rock –
Secret Military Hospital and Atomic Bunker
I., Lovas u.4/c (+36-70 701-0101, www.sziklakorhaz.hu) Mon-Sun: 10 a.m. – 8 p.m.
It used to be a secret military hospital and an atomic bunker, but nowadays it is a museum with wax figures and furniture from the period concerned.
Petőfi Museum of Literature and Centre of Contemporary Literature
V., Károlyi Mihály utca 16., (+36-1 317-3611, www.pim.hu) Tue-Sun 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.
The museum is located in one of the most significant monuments of classicism in Budapest:
in the Károlyi Palace, which was built in 1832. The building also hosted a literary salon, which was famous for its events: Ferenc Liszt also played the piano there. In 1849-50 the palace served as accommodation for General Jellasics, the Ban of Croatia, then for the Austrian General Haynau. Lajos Batthyány, the prime minister of the first effective Hungarian government, was captured here on 8 January 1849, and in the last decades of the 19th century the building became a meeting place for the noblemen living in Pest. Even Emperor Franz Joseph was present at a ball in the palace. Today the heritage of the most prestigious Hungarian poets, writers and philologists can be found here, which are guarded as treasures.
Hungarian Museum of Electrotechnics
VII., Kazinczy u. 21. (+36-1 342-5750, www.emuzeum.hu) Tue-Fri: 10 a.m. – 4 p.m., Sat: 9 a.m. – 4 p.m.
Every electrotechnical product can be seen here, and special emphasis is put on the history of Hungarian electrotechnics.
MEMENTO PARK – STATUE PARK
XXII. Balatoni út – Szabadkai utca (+36-1-424-7500, www.mementopark.hu) Mo-Su: 10 a.m.-till dusk.
A Last Glance Behind the Iron Curtain. Gigantic monuments of the communist dictatorship and statues of socialist politicians. Stalin’s boots, Lenin, Marx, soviet soldiers and other „heroes” of the communist world. A photo collection - concerning the 1956 revolution and the 1989-90 political changes. Red Star Store – Soviet souvenirs, authentic articles and vintage gifts. Trabant – East-German people’s car. “The Life of an Agent” film showing the methods with which the feared communist secret police.
II., Bem József u. 20. (+36-1 201-4370, www.omm.hu/ontode) Tue-Sun: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Originally the building functioned as Ábrahám Ganz’s iron foundry, and the production ran smoothly until 1964. Nowadays it is the only foundry monument in Central Europe.
House of Hungarian Photographers in Mai Manó House
VI., Nagymező u. 20. (+36-1 473-2666, www.maimano.hu) Mon-Fri: 2 p.m. – 7 p.m., Sat: 11 a.m. – 7 p.m.
The monument building, which is unique in Europe, was originally the studio house of Mai Manó, imperial and royal court photographer. Today it is a venue for classical and contemporary photography exhibitions.
ORIENTAL GOLDEN TRIANGLE:
Fans of the treasures of the magical and mysterious East can enjoy the rich collections of three exhibitions. This year the István Zelnik Southeast Asian Gold Museum will open near the two East Asian museums, which have been open to visitors for a long time.
HOPP FERENC MUSEUM OF EASTERN ASIA
VI. Andrássy út 103. (+36-1 322-8476: www. hoppmuzeum.hu) Tue-Sun: 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.
GYÖRGY RÁTH MUSEUM
VI., Városligeti fasor 12. (+36-1 342-3916, www.hoppmuzeum.hu) Tue-Sun: 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.
SOUTHEAST ASIAN GOLD MUSEUM
VI., Andrássy út 110. (www.zelnik-collection.com)
Semmelweis Museum of Medical History
I., Apród u. 1-3., (+36-1 375-3533, www.semmelweis.museum.hu) Tue-Sun: 10:30 a.m. – 6 p.m.
After long years of preparation, the Museum opened in 1965, and its collections have been significantly expanded over the last decades, so nowadays it has become one of the richest medical and pharmaceutical history museums in Europe.
III., Szentlélek tér 6. (+36-1 388-7551, www.vasarely.tvn.hu) Tue-Sun: 10 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.
The material of the exhibition, which introduces his complete lifework, was selected by Vidor Vasarely, and he donated it to the Hungarian State at the beginning of the eighties.
Kossuth Museum Boat
V., Vigadó Square boat port, 2 (+36-1 411-0942, www.europahajo.hu) Mon-Sun: 12 a.m. – 12 p.m.
The nearly hundred-year-old Kossuth steam boat has an exceptional characteristic: it is the
only passenger steam boat with rooms in Hungary to be preserved in its original form.
Hungarian Museum of Trade and Tourism
V., Szent István tér 15. (+36-1 375-6249, www.mkvm.hu) Mon: 11 a.m. – 7 p.m., Wed-Sun: 11 a.m. – 7 p.m.
The museum, which opened in 1966, is still unique in the world. Earlier it displayed objects related to the history of tourism, which were collected from all over the country, and in 1970 the museum was extended with a collection related to trade history. Among other items, the collection includes trade-signs and sign-boards, as well as the furniture and equipment of shops, restaurants and pastry shops.
VI., Nagymező u. 8., (+ 36-1 341-4355, www.ernstmuzeum.hu) Tue-Sun 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.
The Ernst Museum was founded in 1912 by a private collector, Lajos Ernst, who used to be a famous personality in Budapest’s social life. His objective was to make his art collection and history-related collection available to the wider public. Today it has become one of the most significant museums of 20th century Hungarian fine and applied arts. The Art Nouveau building was designed by the architect Gyula Fodor, and it was built in 1912. The museum mainly hosts temporary exhibitions of contemporary Hungarian and international fine and applied arts, design and new artistic trends.
Arany Sas Pharmacy Museum
I., Tárnok u. 18. (+36-1 375-9772) Tue-Sun 10.30 a.m. - 5.30 p.m. (01.11. – 28.02, Tue-Sun 10.30 a.m. - 3.30 p.m.)
Arany Sas (Golden Eagle), one of the oldest pharmacies in the Castle District, opened in 1745 and today it operates as a museum. The exhibition can be seen in the two main rooms of the pharmacy: the laboratory and the room in which customers were served. Visitors can become acquainted with the development of pharmaceutics with the help of writings, pictures and various objects. The detailed and beautiful furniture of the pharmacy, the pottery, the bowls made of wood and glass, the test tubes, the mortars, the scales and other tools deserve to be considered among the most beautiful pieces of Hungarian and international applied arts.